Authenticated user menu

3 September 2022
Total views

Professor Mayur Lakhani has been re-elected as Chair of FMLM

Professor Mayur Lakhani CBE, FMLM Chair

Following a month-long ballot of FMLM voting members, which closed on 31 August, Professor Mayur Lakhani has been re-elected as Chair of FMLM and will continue to serve in the role until December 2024.

Professor Lakhani CBE was first appointed FMLM Chair for a three-year term in 2020. He is a practising GP, the Chair Designate of the Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland ICB Clinical Executive team, a past President of the Royal College of GPs, and a Founding Senior Fellow of FMLM.

The other candidate in the election was Professor Jacky Hayden CBE, former Postgraduate Dean and Responsible Officer, President of the Academy of Medical Educators, and a Founding Senior Fellow of FMLM whose background is also in general practice.

Professor Lakhani said:

“I would like to thank members and fellows for re-electing me as Chairman from 2023. This is a responsibility that I will continue to take very seriously.

“As a working GP, I am a passionate believer in the importance of medical leadership in delivering the ‘quadruple aim’ of healthcare: better clinical outcomes, patient experience, value, and workforce wellbeing. Patients deserve excellent care, and I will do everything possible over the next two years to support clinical leaders at such a challenging time for the NHS, while growing and thriving and diverse medical and dental leadership community.”

Mark Spragg, FMLM Trustee with responsibility for overseeing the election, which was independently managed by Civica Election Services, said:

“On behalf of the Board and all FMLM members, may I take this opportunity to congratulate Professor Lakhani, and to thank Professor Hayden for standing for election.”

 or  Register to add a comment


Array ( [0] => sitewide [1] => advert_external_leaderboard [2] => not_front_desktop [3] => advert_external_wideskyscraper [4] => attachments [5] => comments [6] => comments_login_prompt [7] => jobs_content_pages [8] => node-social-accelerators [9] => node_news [10] => related_content [11] => twitter_feed_rhs [12] => member_attachments_for_non_members [13] => advert_internal_desktop )